Skip to content

I just don’t like A2 cards anymore…

October 1, 2007

thankscornu.JPG

Long ago in a land faraway (El Paso), I made mostly A2 cards.  (An A2 card is 4.25×5.5.)  That’s what all the other SU! demos did so I followed along.  Then I moved to Kentucky and continued to make A2 cards…and at the time there were almost no other stamp demonstrators in the area.  Taking advantage of that, I shared a booth at the local craft fair – where I made hundreds of A2 cards and took orders for hundreds more.

  xmasarchives_02.JPGThis particular design is what the hundreds of orders were for and by the time I finished all of them I never wanted to see an A2 card again.  Ever.  That sentiment was heat embossed and since SU! alphabe stamps only come with one letter each it took forever and a day to stamp and emboss all of those. The first time I saw a CTMH acrylic alphabet stamp set with multiple letters of the most used ones I was sold and still am!

I didn’t make many more cards after that for a long time.  My customers wanted scrapbook pages so that’s what I made.  When I got ready to start making cards again I went thru a 6×6 phase but those are a pain to mail b/c they need extra postage.  I switched to 5×7 and that is now still my favorite size.  I’m of the mindset that the more paper & cardstock used on a card the better, lol.  If I never bought another piece of cardstock or patterned paper again I still could stamp and scrap the rest of my life and never use what I already have.  Sad, but true.

When I started designing card cutting files, my best selling sizes were (and still are) A2 and A6.  Curious, I started making A6 sized cards and they are fun!  Not too big, not too small.  I ordered some orange envelopes in the A6 size (An A6 card is 4.5 x 6.25) but they accidentally sent me the A2 pack.  SO…I have been trying to make A2 fall cards but my mojo isn’t working with these.

The “thanks” card above was designed around a stamped/heat embossed/colored cornucopia by CTMH that I had left over from last year…but when the card was done I realized that the distressed papers by BasicGrey just didn’t suit the shiny embossed stamped image whatsoever – so I pulled it off and tried to make one that was less shiny.  I don’t like it!  I like the stamp itself, I love the papers, and I like the little “thanks” stamp that came from my SU! Level 1 Hostess set…but I don’t like the non-shiny cornucopia, and I really, really, don’t like the A2 size anymore.  It just seems so, I don’t know, small.  I hesitate to say they seem cheap but honestly, the A2 size is used most by demonstrators & consultants because it IS cheap to make.

If you’re a cardmaker and you only make A2, just try making another size for a change.  It might set you free.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment